Indexfundfan\’s blog (new URL is Indextown.com)

April 3, 2006

Goodbye EE-bonds

Filed under: Investing — indexfundfan @ 5:49 pm

I submitted the sale of the last batch of EE savings bonds on Sunday from the TreasuryDirect website. TreasuryDirect is really efficient as the money was already credited into my Presidential checking account when I checked on Monday morning.

These EE savings bonds were bought at a time when TreasuryDirect still allowed the use of credit card purchases and they earned me quite some handsome credit card cashback at that time (I believed it was 1.5% on my American Express Costco card). However, recently, the California tax-exempt bond fund yields have become too attractive to ignore, and I no longer find it worthwhile to hold on to the EE savings bonds. I therefore decided to cash them out and will be consolidating the money into a mixture of the California intermediate-term and long-term tax-exempt bond funds at Vanguard. Consolidating the money with Vanguard would also hopefully help me to qualify for Flagship sooner.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

